Trip to Peterborough

Marci and I took the train to Peterborough today to meet our friends Erika and Susan. We also had a nice walk around the cathedral, which is definitely my favourite of all English cathedrals I have seen. We’ve been there several times before, but this is the first time we’ve seen it without scaffolding around the tower! Having said that, I somehow seem to have neglected to take an outside photo of it!

Here’s the view up the nave looking toward the sanctuary. I love the fact that there is no rood screen and you can see all the way from west to east with very little obstruction. I also love the fact that there are only stained glass windows at the four ends; the side windows are all clear, making the cathedral very bright.

This is from the same spot, looking west:

I had to laugh at the Peterborough Cathedral Advent wreath. I’ve heard of purple and blue candles, but not red!!!

Stained glass in the north transept.

The tomb of Catherine of Aragon, Henry VIII’s first wife.

This ‘Monks’ Stone’ dates back to the 800s and may have been in commemoration of monks killed in a Viking raid on the monastery.

We went for lunch with Erika and Susan, which was a truly delightful experience. Here they are, sitting across from us in the restaurant:

And here is one of Erika and myself. We had been internet friends for some years, but this is the first time we have had the pleasure of meeting, and a real pleasure it was too.



6 responses to “Trip to Peterborough”

  1. I am so jealous. How i wish I could have been there to meet you and Marci, Tim, and to see my good friends Susan and Erika again. I’m so pleased that you four met.

    Your pictures of Peterborough Cathedral are wonderful. The close-up of the stained glass is gorgeous. May I ‘borrow’ the pictures of the people for Wounded Bird? I promise to give you full credit and a link.

  2. Steal away, Mimi. I’m glad to share our day with our other blogging friends.

  3. Regarding the candles, an evangelical friend who is involved in Ordinand training and ought to know this kind of thing says: “High Church Catholic practice is for different colours each with a particular theme (pink Our Lady, purple John the Baptist etc. -but not entirely matching the Advent themes as now set out in the common lectionary) The protestant churches however went for a single colour or perhaps red with a white 5th candle for Christmas itself. Thats my understanding “

  4. Wow! What a beautiful cathedral! Thank you for sharing!

  5. THat’s a new one on me, Erika, but thanks for sharing it! I think the truth probably is that there are many different Advent wreath traditions (and I of course have the right ones…!).

    Cynthia, thanks for stopping by. Yes, it is lovely, isn’t it?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.