Okay, now it’s time for some traditional folk music from North America. I don’t know anything about the history of the song ‘The Blackest Crow’ (although several versions of the lyrics are available on this thread at Mudcat.org), but I’m a big fan of Michael Beauchamp and Laurel Premo, otherwise known as ‘Red Tail Ring‘. I have their CD ‘Mountain Shout’ (available here) and it’s one of the best collections of traditional American folk songs I’ve heard in a long time.

Here are Michael and Laurel with their version of ‘The Blackest Crow’.

Tim Chesterton Avatar

Published by

5 responses to “The Blackest Crow”

  1. Grandmère Mimi Avatar

    Like!…as we say on Facebook. I did not have time before now to listen to your music videos till now, so I went through them one by one and enjoyed them. I don’t really have time now, but I stole it anyway. Thanks.

  2. Grandmère Mimi Avatar

    Repetitious, but you know what I mean. I’m in a hurry.

  3. Tim Chesterton Avatar
    Tim Chesterton

    I’m glad you’re enjoying the videos, Mimi – I’m really enjoying choosing,them.

  4. c Avatar
    c

    As time got near my dearest dear when you and I must part
    How little you know of the grief and woe in my poor aching heart
    Tis but I’d suffer for your sake believe me dear it’s true
    I wish that you were staying here or I was going with you.

    I wish my breast were made of glass wherein you might behold
    Upon my heart your name lies wrote in letters made of gold
    In letters made of gold my love believe me when I say
    You are the one that I will adore until my dying day.

    The blackest crow that ever flew would surely turn to white
    If ever I prove false to you bright day will turn to night
    Bright day will turn to night my love the yellow birds will mourn
    If ever I prove false to you the seas will rage and burn.

  5. John Kiely Avatar

    I love the song. I have heard a few versions of it.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.