I’ll Weave My Love a Garland

Once again I thank Jonathan Hagger for pointing me in the direction of this fine American ‘Celtic’ singer who I’d never heard of before, Christa Burch, singing here with a band called ‘Molly’s Revenge’ at the Culver City Music Festival 2011; the song is ‘I’ll Weave My Love a Garland’.

‘I’ll Weave My Love a Garland’ is known to Mainly Norfolk as ‘The Loyal Lover’, but their page on the song is very brief. It was apparently published by Lucy Broadwood as part of a collection of English West Country folk songs; I know very little about Miss Broadwood although I do know that she was one of the founding members of the English Folk Song Society (now the English Folk Dance and Song Society) in 1898, and became its honorary secretary. I know that she went to Devonshire with Sabine Baring-Gould in the 1890s to collect folk songs, and I presume that this is when she came across this song.

Christa Burch’s website is here, and Molly’s Revenge is here.

One thought on “I’ll Weave My Love a Garland

  1. Enjoyed listening to this! I remember The Young Tradition singing this song on Galleries Revisited – one of my favourites. Good to hear it again!

Leave a Reply

