The modern balladeers 2: Stan Rogers

The late great Stan Rogers wrote some wonderful ballads (=storytelling songs, remember?). Here is one of my favourites, a song that’s half a ballad, half a love song. When Marci and I were first married we spent five years in rural Saskatchewan and I had many cups of coffee in farm kitchens with a can of carnation on the table, so this song carries wonderful memories for me. It seems somehow appropriate for our wedding anniversary!

So here is Stan Rogers with ‘Lies’.

Published by

Tim Chesterton

Family man; pastor of St. Margaret's Anglican Church on Ellerslie Road, Edmonton; storyteller; traditional folk musician and occasional songwriter. Email me at timchesterton at outlook dot com.

2 thoughts on “The modern balladeers 2: Stan Rogers”

  1. I think “Lies” may be the most romantic song ever written, and I can rarely hear it or sing it without getting a bit misty.

    Happy anniversary. And may that maiden always be smiling in your eyes.

  2. Stan Rogers = Awesome. He died (just) before I was born, but I was raised on his music. “Lies” is indeed a particularly beautiful song. He certainly knows how to draw the tears. I hear that when he’d introduce a new song to his friend they’d say “Oh no! Stan’s going to make us cry again.” 😀 In the case of “Lies” however, those are tears of joy and beauty.

Leave a Reply

