H.M. hits another home run

Here’s the last bit:

At Christmas I am always struck by how the spirit of togetherness lies also at the heart of the Christmas story. A young mother and a dutiful father with their baby were joined by poor shepherds and visitors from afar. They came with their gifts to worship the Christ child. From that day on he has inspired people to commit themselves to the best interests of others.

This is the time of year when we remember that God sent his only son ‘to serve, not to be served’. He restored love and service to the centre of our lives in the person of Jesus Christ. It is my prayer this Christmas Day that his example and teaching will continue to bring people together to give the best of themselves in the service of others.

The carol, ‘In the Bleak Midwinter’, ends by asking a question of all of us who know the Christmas story, of how God gave himself to us in humble service: ‘What can I give him, poor as I am? If I were a shepherd, I would bring a lamb; if I were a wise man, I would do my part’. The carol gives the answer, ‘Yet what I can I give him – give my heart’.

In her quiet and winsome way, H.M. surely must be one of the best evangelists in Britain today.

2 thoughts on “H.M. hits another home run

  1. Andrew H.

    Thank you for posting this. How splendid it is that she ends the message as she does (and last year’s message was equally memorable). More than most monarchs, she deserves the title “defender of the faith.”

    I loved the musical choices; I’ve never heard the National Anthem like the opening, and the military wives’ choir at the end was an inspired choice.

    A merry Christmas to you, Fr. Tim.
    Somewhat off topic:my gift to my wife was a trio of Maria Dunn CDs. I would never have heard of this fine musician but for you.

  2. Tim Chesterton

    With you on all of that, Andrew. Like many people, I was mightily impressed with last year’s, and was curious to see if she would measure up to her own standards again this year. I need not have worried! I thought she was splendid; she brought tears to my eyes with the simple and eloquent way she referred to our Lord, and called people to give their hearts to him. And yes, the music was also splendid. I have heard of the military wives’ choir but this is my first time hearing them. And I loved the lute in the orchestra!

    And I’m so glad that you like Maria Dunn! I’ll tell her next time I see her (I see her regularly in the little folk music community of Edmonton); she’ll be so pleased.

    Merry Christmas to you, too, Andrew. By the way, did you get the Christmas song I sent to your email address?

Leave a Reply

