Into the desert…

(Lightly revised from last year).

Two days from now is Ash Wednesday, and Lent will begin – an annual season for going out into the desert, metaphorically speaking, away from distractions, in order to pay attention to what God is saying. It’s a season for silence and self-examination, for prayer and self-discipine, for meditating on the Word of the Lord and for being more intentional about learning the Jesus Way.

‘Giving up things for Lent’ doesn’t mean a lot to me, although I know the value of learning to strengthen one’s self-control muscles by practising saying ‘no’ to self.  What does make sense to me, though, is taking regular breaks from things that threaten to become addictions. Internet use and blogging is high on that list for me, so every year in Lent I just give it up. It’s a sort of forty-day silent retreat for me. Not that I’ve been very active in the blogosphere of late; in fact, for the most part, I’ve been getting bored, not just with what other people write, but with my own stuff as well. When you get bored with your own writing, it’s high time to stop inflicting it on others!

I’m always glad for my Lenten blog-fast; I always approach Easter feeling more peaceful, more in tune with what God is saying. Lent always seems to arrive in the nick of time for me spiritually, and I think it’s going to be the same this year. I’m looking forward to it.

2 thoughts on “Into the desert…

  1. Well, if you want to sneak one last blog peek in before giving it all up for Lent, you are welcome to join me in an Ash Wednesday prayer which I’ll be posting very, very early on Wednesday morning. I promise it will be Scripture focussed and intended for contemplation. (The post will be called ‘Ashes’ on Blue Stone City). After that you can leave it all behind! Blessings to you as we enter the season of Lent. ~Miriam Wickett

Leave a Reply

