Places I’ve lived

I was born in Leicester, England, in 1958. When I was very small we lived in Woodland Road; we lived on the corner at number 1, and then a bit later we moved next door to number 3. My Taylor grandparents lived across the road at number 8, and my great-grandpa Sam Reynolds lived at number 20. Here’s a recent shot of Woodland Road, taken in December 2011. When I lived there no one had a car.

IMG_5448

This is the house we lived in, at number 3 (with the white wall):

IMG_5449

In 1965 my Dad was ordained, and we moved out to Leicester Forest East where he served for a couple of years as a curate (assistant minister). Here’s the street we lived on, Kirloe Avenue:

IMG_5473

In September 1967 we left England and went all the way to the wilds of the Canadian Arctic, where my Dad served for one year as missionary in charge of St. George’s Anglican Mission, Cambridge Bay. When we lived there it was a community of about 600 people. Today it is much bigger. Here’s a recent shot.

IMG_4969-Panorama-copy-1024x419

We returned to England in October of 1968, and my Dad served his second curacy at St. Thomas’ Church, Lytham St. Anne’s, Lancashire. Here’s an old photo from 1968 of St. Anne’s pier; that was about the time we lived there.

st_annes_pier_b_18

We lived in Lightburne Avenue, in a house a bit like this (we were at number 16; this is next door, at number 18):

65648_F418LightburneAve_IMG_00_0000_max_620x414

In December 1969 we settled down for a few years, as my Dad was appointed vicar of St. Leonard’s, Southminster, Essex; the next six years were very happy ones for me, as I made good friends, learned to play guitar, and became a committed Christian. Here’s a recent picture of Burnham Road in Southminster, looking north toward the High Street:

IMG_0625

When we first moved to Southminster we lived in a big old vicarage dating back to the 18th century; it was set in the middle of a field (nowadays it is totally surrounded by houses). Here it is:

87 Hol 29

After a few months, however, we moved into a brand new vicarage where we lived for the next five years or so, from 1970-75. This is a photo of that vicarage taken in 1987 (these days it’s surrounded by houses too!):

87 Hol 30

In December 1975 we were on the move again, as my Dad accepted an appointment as rector of St. Alban’s Anglican Church, Ashcroft, B.C. This picture of the rectory (with Dad and Mum and me) was taken in 1977 I believe.

Oldpics017

I left home in September of 1976 and spent the next two years at the Church Army Training College, 397 Brunswick Avenue, Toronto.

Fall 77 40

After I finished my training in 1978 I was posted to Angus, Ontario where I spent a year trying to plant a church (a job, alas, I’d never been trained to do!). I don’t have a photo of the tiny rented house I lived in, but here’s an aerial view of the town.

img18032

While I was there I met a wonderful young woman, and in October 1979 we were married. A week later we packed our VW Beetle and drove west to Arborfield, Saskatchewan, where I spent the next five years serving the Anglican churches and communities of Arborfield, Red Earth, and Shoal Lake. Here’s a shot of Arborfield, taken from the west. You see the grain elevator? That’s where the town is:

17-arborfield-panorama

My normal Sunday in my Arborfield days included three services and 150 miles of driving, about half of it in gravel. Here’s the little church at the Red Earth First Nation (which has since been replaced):

img_01

And here’s the house we lived in, in Arborfield:

Arborfield 1

In August of 1984, after five years in Arborfield, Marci and I headed north to the Arctic with the two children who had been born to us in Saskatchewan, Sarah and Matthew. We spent four years, 1984-88, in Aklavik in the Mackenzie Delta. Here’s Aklavik:

AS69

And here’s the church and mission house:

AS1

In the summer of 1988 we (the four of us, plus Jacqui who had been born while we lived in Aklavik) moved even further north, to Holman (now called Ulukhaktok), where I believe I was the third most northerly Anglican minister in the world. Here’s Holman:

Holmanaerial1

And here’s our mission house:

Mission House

In the summer of 1991, after seven years in the Arctic, the six of us (Nick had been born while we lived in Holman) moved to Valleyview, Alberta, where for the next eight and a half years I would be the rector of the Anglican churches in Valleyview, Fox Creek, Goodwin, and New Fish Creek.  More long Sunday drives (it’s 50 miles from Valleyview to Fox Creek, and 32 from Valleyview to Goodwin)! Here’s our rectory in Valleyview:

Valleyview002

And here’s St. Anne’s Church, right beside the rectory:

Valleyview001

We lived in Valleyview from September 1991 to January 2000, when we made our final move (to date!) to the city of Edmonton, where I became the rector of St. Margaret’s Church. We have now lived here for thirteen and a half years. I don’t appear to have a good photo of our house, but here’s the church:

462791_360358917340406_2142504161_o

And here’s a nice shot of our city centre skyline (several miles from where we live!):

Downtown-Skyline-Edmonton-Alberta-Canada-01A

Published by

Tim Chesterton

Family man; pastor of St. Margaret's Anglican Church on Ellerslie Road, Edmonton; storyteller; traditional folk musician and occasional songwriter. Email me at timchesterton at outlook dot com.

5 thoughts on “Places I’ve lived”

  1. You have lived in some diverse places.

    I live in a street with housing similar to the ones in the first Leicester pictures. When we moved to this area of Bradford 20 years ago hardly any one had a car. Nowadays the bus is hard pushed to get around the route because of the cars parked on both sides of the road.

Leave a Reply

