A Resolution

tumblr_mme54mwfdq1r8rauqo1_500There was a time in my online life when I got involved in theological arguments on blogs fairly frequently. Some of those arguments took place on this blog, but most of them were on the blogs of others.

I’ve noticed over the last few months that my energy for that sort of thing is getting less and less. The main problem is that the same conversation happens over and over again. It’s like being trapped in an endless daytime soap opera. Most people aren’t really open to having their minds changed, and, to be honest, I’m not always open to it either! And when I am, it’s much more likely to happen in the context of a one on one conversation with a trusted friend than it is with someone who I only know as a blog persona.

I’ve noticed that one of the effects Dad’s death is having on me is that I’m really not interested in wasting time and energy on stuff that isn’t that important or productive, or that I don’t enjoy doing. I remember a letter of C.S. Lewis to a godchild in which he told her that there are really only three kinds of things we need to do:

  1. Things it’s necessary to do (brush your teeth, pay your taxes, earn a living)
  2. Things you ought to do (obey God’s commandments)
  3. Things you enjoy doing.

Right. No more blog arguments. I’m done.

3 thoughts on “A Resolution

  1. Andrew H.

    My weakness was political argument. What a waste of energy! I did engage in a bit of liturgical argument last year that I still consider worthwhile; I changed no one’s mind, but at least I feel that I said something that needed to be said.

    But such occasions are rare.

Leave a Reply

