Bert Jansch 60th birthday concert

One of the first LP records I ever owned was Pentangle’s ‘Basket of Light’, which was where I first ran across the mesmerizing guitar playing and idiosyncratic voice of the great Bert Jansch (1943-2011). I have always admired his musical integrity, and one of the great regrets of my life is that I didn’t go to see him a few years ago when he was in Edmonton, opening for someone else (I can’t remember who it was, but I remember thinking at the time ‘Well, I don’t care if I see the headliner, but I’d love to see Bert Jansch!).

This movie was filmed at a concert to celebrate Bert’s 60th birthday in 2003. It’s an hour long, so make yourself a coffee, sit back, and enjoy it.

Published by

Tim Chesterton

Family man; pastor of St. Margaret's Anglican Church on Ellerslie Road, Edmonton; storyteller; traditional folk musician and occasional songwriter. Email me at timchesterton at outlook dot com.

One thought on “Bert Jansch 60th birthday concert”

  1. 🙂 We recorded this the other night on BBC4. I shall think of you when we watch it. There was also a tribute show the same night with various artists singing Bert Jansch songs including Robert Plant and Donavon :). That was good.

Leave a Reply

