The Earls of Leicester and their take on ‘Rolling in My Sweet Baby’s Arms’

I was born in Leicester and these guys don’t look like any Earls of Leicester I would recognize! But they are great bluegrass players!

The Earls of Leicester, featuring Jerry Douglas, Shawn Camp, Johnny Warren, Charlie Cushman, Barry Bales and Tim O’Brien are a group of like-minded musicians banding together to recreate the music of Lester Flatt and Earl Scruggs and the Foggy Mountain Boys.

Led by thirteen-time Grammy-winner Jerry Douglas, The Earls of Leicester features the talents of some of Nashville’s most gifted musicians, including hit songwriter Shawn Camp on guitar and lead vocals, Tim O’Brien on mandolin, bassist Barry Bales (Douglas’s cohort in Alison Krauss & Union Station), fiddler Johnny Warren (son of Paul Warren, legendary fiddle player in Flatt & Scruggs’ Foggy Mountain Boys band), and acclaimed banjo player Charlie Cushman.

Published by

Tim Chesterton

Family man; pastor of St. Margaret's Anglican Church on Ellerslie Road, Edmonton; storyteller; traditional folk musician and occasional songwriter. Email me at timchesterton at outlook dot com.

2 thoughts on “The Earls of Leicester and their take on ‘Rolling in My Sweet Baby’s Arms’”

  1. I grew up listening to the Foggy Mountain Boys every Saturday on WDBJ television, out of Roanoke, Virginia. I kind of liked their music, but I had no idea then how special it was to be hearing their weekly show; I was just a kid, and assumed everyone was hearing music like this all the time. It was only later that I came to realize that players and groups of this quality do not happen very often.

    Much later on, I used to have my hair cut in the barbershop down the street from where Lester Flatt worked as a textile mill hand in Bristol, VA. Back in the day, he and others would come by the shop after work and “pick a little,” and the tradition continued after his death; when I was around in the 1990’s, there was a stand-up bass perched in the corner, and local musicians would still drop by and play a few songs. I don’t know if it is still that way.

  2. Thanks for that, Andrew! Every now and again when you share little snippets about your musical childhood, I get just a little envious! The picture of a stand up bass perched in the corner of a barbershop is one that will stay with me, I think!

Leave a Reply

