I need more binge-reading

Yesterday I travelled from Edmonton to St. John, New Brunswick, where I will be participating in meetings of the national board of this ministry.

It’s three hours and forty-five minutes flying time from Edmonton to Toronto, and then another two hours from Toronto to St. John. I did some sitting in airports, too; ‘hurry up and wait’ is of course one of the slogans of airline travel.

I brought my Kindle with me, and on the trip I read Elizabeth Gaskell’s ‘Cranford‘. All of it. It’s 185 pages long (so my Kindle tells me); I started it before takeoff in Edmonton, and I finished it about ten minutes before landing in St. John.

It’s been a long time since I read a novel like that. There’s nothing like it for grasping the big picture of the story the author is trying to tell. Characters grow; plot lines develop; little hints earlier on in the book materialize into full-blown chapters later on. It was an amazing experience.

*******

Like most Christians, I tend to read the books of the Bible in small daily snippets. I blame lectionaries; they’ve made us into snippet-readers, rather than big picture readers.

A few years ago I read Paul’s letter to the Romans through in one sitting. Once again, it was an awesome experience; I was able to take in the whole sweep of what Paul was trying to say, in one go. But the sad thing is, before that, I can’t remember the last time I did that with a biblical book.

Note to self: when it comes to the Bible, I need more binge-reading.

Leave a Reply

