Funny how you remember dates

Ten years ago today, for the first time, I walked into an Edmonton open stage, got up behind a microphone, and performed a few songs. The open stage was held at what was then the Druid South, an Edmonton pub that in longer exists, and the host was Chris Wynters, who is now the Executive Director of Alberta Music. Thank you, Chris, for giving me such a good start!

Before that night I’d played in church from time to time, and the odd one-off gig here and there, but never with any consistency. I’d always loved music, though, and I was curious about what it would be like to participate in an open stage. Little did I know, on that evening of October 2nd 2005, how much richer my life would be ten years later.

Since that night I’ve learned dozens of traditional folk songs, and written some songs of my own. I’ve become the owner of two beautiful guitars and a cittern, and I love playing them. I’ve performed at open stages, at gigs in coffee shops and folk clubs and churches, and at some truly amazing fundraisers with other musicians. I’ve recorded and released a professionallyproduced CD. And, best of all, I’ve made some wonderful friends.

Thank you, Edmonton music community. Today, I can’t imagine my life without you!

Published by

Tim Chesterton

Family man; pastor of St. Margaret's Anglican Church on Ellerslie Road, Edmonton; storyteller; traditional folk musician and occasional songwriter. Email me at timchesterton at outlook dot com.

2 thoughts on “Funny how you remember dates”

  1. Congratulations on the ten years! I am not a part of the Edmonton music scene (being some 1,000 miles or more to the south), but I probably would never had happened upon your blog without its musical elements. And I have enjoyed your songs, such as the Christmas songs. Blessings be with you and keep on making music!

Leave a Reply

