Election Day musings

IMG_1245Today I voted in the 2015 Canadian federal election.

I did not find the choice to be easy. I don’t tend to be a member of the faithful of any political party, although I have joined one or two of them from time to time. Each time an election rolls around, I try to listen to the positive message the parties are presenting – piercing through the rhetoric and the barbs and the attack ads and the point-scoring, and asking myself the question ‘What vision of Canada (or Alberta, or Edmonton) is being presented here? And how does it square with the vision I believe in?’

I have to confess that this time around, my mind was still not made up when Marci and I walked to the polling station this morning. I was caught between the choice I would make if I were voting according to my true beliefs, and the choice I would make if all I was concerned about was the likelihood of my candidate being elected. I had no doubt at all which party I really supported. The problem was that, in our first-past-the-post system, my vote for that party would appear to have been a wasted vote.

Eventually, I rejected that thought. My reasoning was that if that thought was universally valid there would never have been a British Labour party, never have been a CCF or NDP, never a Reform Party. None of these parties seemed electable when they were first created. Voting for them seemed like wasting your vote for the first few years, or even the first few decades, of their existence. But in time, they became movements, and those movements grew by presenting their vision to the public in such a way that more and more people were gradually inspired to join them.

I’m proud to say that today I did not vote cynically. I voted for my real beliefs. I don’t for a moment think that the person I voted for will be elected. But I do believe that the movement I believe in will grow. Maybe I won’t see the party I voted for in government in my lifetime. But I hope that one day my children and grandchildren will see it. And if that happens, my vote today will not have been wasted.

One thought on “Election Day musings

Leave a Reply

