A personal update

13522815_10154825311440400_1653730617649131420_o13528091_10154825313960400_2596429926615660503_o

Feeling pretty good this morning. On January 1st I weighed 217 lbs, had a (tight) 40″ waist and was wearing 18 1/2″ collars. I was tired of being so big, of being on blood pressure and cholesterol medication, of having sore knees and not feeling fit enough to do the outdoor stuff I wanted to do. I was tired of feeling worn out about work and not having the energy to tackle the projects I wanted to tackle.

So I decided to do something about it. Quit making excuses, quit blaming my body type and DNA. I decided to ask for help from God and my wonderful wife (who has been 1000% supportive of me all the way), I made a simple plan, and started out.

After about four and a half months, my doctor did my annual physical, did a few tests, and told me I no longer needed my blood pressure and cholesterol pills. He also asked me how far I was planning to go. I said, “What would you recommend?” He did the numbers and said ‘170 lbs’ (I was at about 180 at that point). I agreed with him, and so we set 170 lbs as a goal. That would be a loss of 47 lbs.

Today, 183 days after I began this project, I reached my goal of 170 lbs. I’m now wearing 36″ waist jeans (straight cut, not relaxed fit), my collar size is 17 1/2″, and I’m feeling better than I’ve felt in twenty years. I have way more energy, and last week when we were hiking in the mountains I couldn’t believe the difference.

Thank you so much to all my friends and family, and especially to Marci, for your incredible support, without which I couldn’t have done this. Thank you God for helping me to stick to this, one day at a time. Thank you also, God, for giving me patience (this was not a crash diet, it was basically not eating between meals, no dessert except fruit, cutting down on sugar, replacing bread with ryvita – that sort of stuff – it was what Eugene Peterson calls ‘A long obedience in the same direction’).

Everyone who’s ever done this knows that losing weight is only half the battle; keeping it off is just as difficult. Please keep me in your prayers, my friends!

Published by

Tim Chesterton

Family man; pastor of St. Margaret's Anglican Church on Ellerslie Road, Edmonton; storyteller; traditional folk musician and occasional songwriter. Email me at timchesterton at outlook dot com.

4 thoughts on “A personal update”

Leave a Reply

