Random Lent Thought for Monday March 20th: ‘What We Do’

A few years ago I re-read Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility, a book I hadn’t read for about twenty years. I have also watched a couple of movie and TV versions of it.

Whenever I go back to a book after watching movie adaptations, I’m usually impressed by two things: (1) How much better the book is than the movie! (2) Nonetheless, every now and again the scriptwriter put a line in that is so good and so true to character that you think ‘I wish the author had put that in!’

So, in the 2007 BBC miniseries of ‘Sense and Sensibility’, after a long period of hard-earned wisdom in the School of Hard Knocks, Marianne Dashwood says to her sister Elinor, “It is not what we say or what we feel that makes us who we are, it is what we do – or what we fail to do”.

Yes – I think Jane Austen would have agreed with that 100%!

And so would someone else: “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord’, will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of my Father in heaven” (Matthew 7:21, NIV 2011).

Enough said. Carry on.

Published by

Tim Chesterton

Family man; pastor of St. Margaret's Anglican Church on Ellerslie Road, Edmonton; storyteller; traditional folk musician and occasional songwriter. Email me at timchesterton at outlook dot com.

Leave a Reply

