Kate Rusby: ‘The Drowned Lovers’ (AKA ‘Clyde Waters’

This is from a 2001 performance, in the days before Kate played with a polished backup band.

Kate learned this traditional song from Nic Jones and recorded it on her 1997 album ‘Hourglass‘. I think Nic had learned it from some old Scottish versions and had changed a few of the lyrics to make them more accessible to modern English audiences (although I still like the line ‘turled low on the pin’). Nic recorded a very jaunty version of it on ‘Penguin Eggs‘, but I like his live versions better.

You can find out more about the song at ‘Mainly Norfolk’ here.

Kate’s version is on ‘Hourglass‘. Her website is here. Nowadays she mainly sings her own original songs, but I still love her traditional songs best of all.

One thought on “Kate Rusby: ‘The Drowned Lovers’ (AKA ‘Clyde Waters’

  1. Really liked this performance. However many times I listen to the song on “Hourglass” the hairs on the back of my neck rise when Mike McGoldrick plays a solo break after the line “make me a wreck as I come back, but spare me as I’m gone”.

Leave a Reply

