Our trip to the UK, June 2017 (part the second)

On Sunday June 9th we went with Mum to St. Mary’s, Ketton, the church she normally attends (Ketton is a small village a few miles from Oakham). I didn’t get a photo of the church that week, but Marci got one of Mum and me as we were walking up the sidewalk toward it.

DSCN0987

After the service we had a nice lunch with some of Mum’s friends, and then in the afternoon went to the nearby village of Greetham where they had an ‘open garden’ event. Gardens are not normally my thing, but this was rather beautiful. Here’s a picture I took of the group walking between houses; Marci seems to be conducting an invisible orchestra…

DSCN0990

These are rather nice, don’t you think?

DSCN1001

 

DSCN1004

 

On the Tuesday and Wednesday Marci and I went into Leicester to stay with my Auntie Carole and Uncle Alan (Carole is my mum’s sister). They like getting out and about and we had a couple of nice trips, one to Watermead and the other to Bradgate Park. At Watermead I took what I think is one of the best bird pictures I’ve ever snapped, of a grey heron; here it is:

DSCN1024

 

Bradgate was once the estate of the Grey family (famous for Lady Jane Grey, who was Queen of England for nine days after the death of Henry VIII, until the pro-Mary forces won and LJG was beheaded). Here’s the ruins off the old Grey pad:

DSCN1039

I always knew Bradgate was historic but recently there have been some interesting discoveries of 15,000 year old artifacts and the University of Leicester is now running a four year project there (see here for more details).

Marci and I climbed Old John, for old times’ sake:

DSCN1051

 

DSCN1057

 

You get a pretty good view of the county of Leicestershire from up there.

DSCN1055

Here’s a nice picture of Marci and me with Carole and Alan, taken in their back yard (or ‘back garden’ as the English say).

DSCN1063

 

Back in Oakham, on the Thursday of that week we enjoyed a nice evening with my cousins Dave and Andy, and Andy’s wife Annie. I don’t very often get cousin snaps, so I rather like this one of Andy, Dave and me.

DSCN1068

 

A couple of days later my cousin Angela took us over to Loughborough to visit my Auntie Mary and Uncle Peter (Mary is my dad’s sister). Here we are along with Angela’s son Zack; the reason the camera is looking up our noses is that Marci had set it on a table and used the timer with a ten-second delay so she could get in the picture (she’s pretty good at doing that!).

DSCN1069

And that’s the end of this gripping instalment; stay tuned…

Published by

Tim Chesterton

Family man; pastor of St. Margaret's Anglican Church on Ellerslie Road, Edmonton; storyteller; traditional folk musician and occasional songwriter. Email me at timchesterton at outlook dot com.

Leave a Reply

